Friday, November 6, 2015

Friday Memes: The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

Happy Friday everybody!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

"Lady Sara Emerson to see you, Your Grace."

Gabriel Ferguson, the Duke of Rossmoyne, cracked an eye open and quickly slammed it shut. "What the devil time is it?" he croaked.

"Half past eleven, Your Grace."
Friday 56:
"So we know the man looks like me and dresses like me," Montgomery said.

"You and half of London's male population," Ross said, once again handing Sara up into the carriage. Her hands were warm, and for a strange moment he wished he could feel her skin beneath her gloves.
This week I am spotlighting The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen. I got the ARC of this historical romance from NetGalley. Here is the description from Amazon:
Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations.

Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her dull provincial life by her cousin’s murder. Now that the killer seems to be targeting her, Sara seeks help from the man who was once her cousin’s fiancĂ©, Gabriel Ferguson, Duke of Rossmoyne. With his towering frame and fiery personality, Ross cuts an intimidating figure. Living under his protection, however, has its own hazards—like the sudden urge Sara feels to take their relationship in new, exquisitely inappropriate directions.

Dazzled by the social graces of his betrothed, Ross never noticed her shy, blushing cousin. Looking at Sara now, though, he’s drawn to her lovely eyes and calm disposition. Funny how a year away from the hustle and bustle of the ton changes a man. But Ross has no intention of allowing a woman to interfere with his plan to return overseas. He will simply capture the murderer and set sail once again. The problem is, with her beguiling lips and heavenly touch, Sara makes him never want to leave home—or his bed—again.


  1. Definitely adding this one to my TBR. I am in such a historical romance mood at the moment and since I am in fact a fan of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James - perfect.

  2. This sounds like a fun historical romance. I like "cracked one eye open and quickly slammed it shut." I've felt that way myself!
    My Friday post features HOOT.

  3. I love the cover, such pretty colors. If I am going to go for a light romance it is almost always historical so I will be watching for this one. Happy Friday!

  4. I am currently reading this one and it's pretty good so far. :)

  5. This isn't a book I would typically read but it sounds pretty good. I hope you enjoy it.

  6. Beautiful cover art and the lovely Lady Sara looks like she will allure someone, for sure!

  7. A late sleeper, I take it... I used to be one too.
    Happy weekend!

  8. Sounds good and what a lovely cover!

  9. Not my thing, but I hope you enjoyed it!

  10. I'm not sure what but this really reminds me of something... :)

    Check out my Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings), my new weekly blog meme called Music Monday, and my Top Ten Tuesday.


I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!