Friday, March 17, 2017

Friday Memes: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Happy Friday everybody!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City ReaderThe Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginning:
It began with someone else's story.
Friday 56 (from 56% in the eARC):
"Back up for a second, Professor. Why would the United States government --"

"Not the entire government," he said.

"All right. Why would someone from Justice, FBI, or whatever put a first-year lawyer at a top law firm under surveillance?"
This week I am reading The Cutaway by Christina Kovac. I got this eARC from NetGalley. Here is the description from Amazon:
The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

9 comments:

  1. I have this book...and now I want to read it sooner, rather than later. Thanks for sharing...and for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've had my eye on this book for a while and would love to read it. I have questions as to a first year lawyer at a top firm. My mind immediately went to The Firm by John Grisham, but I'm sure the books aren't alike.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This looks great. I think I'll give it a try. The Undoing Project is my Friday book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. That beginning got me immediately. This sounds like something right out of the news.

    My Friday 56 from Bone White

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds intriguing. Here is my post
    http://totallyaddictedtoreading.blogspot.com/2017/03/friday-memes-book-beginnings-and-friday_17.html

    ReplyDelete
  6. I haven't heard of this book, but I'm intrigued by the 56. Sounds like a really interesting political thriller. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm adding this one to my wishlist. It looks really good.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Gripping opener!
    Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn - I like the sound of that combo!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!