Friday, July 6, 2018

Friday Memes: Shelved Under Murder by Victoria Gilbert

Happy Friday everybody!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City ReaderThe Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginning:
One thing every librarian learns is that people rarely ask the question they actually want answered.
Friday 56: 
"No, I suppose not." Richard sighed. "It's in the past, and I should get over it. Or at least that's what Meredith always told me."

I bit back a swear word as I contemplated how satisfying it would be to slap Meredith's pretty face. "That's nonsense. If a person means the world to you, how can you just forget?"
This week I am reading Shelved Under Murder by Victoria Gilbert. I can't resist mysteries with libraries and/or librarians. Here is the description from Amazon:
Autumn leaves aren’t the only things falling in the historic Virginia village of Taylorsford―so are some cherished memories, and a few bodies.

October in Taylorsford, Virginia means it’s leaf peeping season, with bright colorful foliage and a delightful fresh crew of tourists attending the annual Heritage Festival which celebrates local history and arts and crafts. Library director Amy Webber, though, is slightly dreading having to spend two days running a yard sale fundraiser for her library. But during these preparations, when she and her assistant Sunny stumble across a dead body, Amy finds a real reason to be worried.

The body belonged to a renowned artist who was murdered with her own pallet knife. A search of the artist’s studio uncovers a cache of forged paintings, and when the sheriff’s chief deputy Brad Tucker realizes Amy is skilled in art history research, she’s recruited to aid the investigation. It doesn’t seem to be an easy task, but when the state’s art expert uncovers a possible connection between Amy’s deceased uncle and the murder case, Amy must champion her Aunt Lydia to clear her late husband’s name.

That’s when another killing shakes the quiet town, and danger sweeps in like an autumn wind. Now, with her swoon-inducing neighbor Richard Muir, Amy must scour their resources to once again close the books on murder in Shelved Under Murder, the charming second installment in Victoria Gilbert’s Blue Ridge Library mysteries, perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James.

15 comments:

  1. Oh my, makes me yearn for a cool, crisp fall day. Sounds like a good book.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like that opening sentence. Enjoy your current read!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved the first book in the series and am super excited for this one. The teasers sound so good and I can't wait to start this next week!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like a book I'd really enjoy. Thanks for sharing! Hope you have a great weekend! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like a great mystery! I love that beginning! Have a great weekend. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ow. This one sounds like a good book for us retired librarians! Hope you enjoy it. My quotes from The Virgin Suicides

    ReplyDelete
  7. Hope you're enjoying your new mystery!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love that it's a bookish read! :-) Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  9. It is a superbly bookish read! I'm sure these are written with book bloggers and librarians in mind! ;)

    Have a lovely weekend!! Luv Sassx

    ReplyDelete
  10. Autumn and books, ahh, it sounds like heaven for sure.

    Ronnie @ Paradise Found

    ReplyDelete
  11. A book with books, and a cozy too! I'm in:)

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!