Thursday, December 8, 2016

ARC Review: At What Cost by James L'Etoile

At What Cost
Author: James L'Etoile
Series: A Detective Penley Mystery (Book 1)
Publication: A Detective Penley Mystery (Book 1)

Description: What would you do to save your child?

Detective John Penley and his new partner, Detective Paula Newberry, of the Sacramento Police Department are tasked with leading the investigation into a local serial killer who has dumped three bodies in the past six weeks--and all of them are missing their internal organs. But while pursuing a lead, the detectives stumble upon a personal message the killer left behind for Penley. And it's attached to a human kidney.

How could the killer know Penley's son is on the kidney transplant waiting list? Now Penley's baited into an impossible trap that could jeopardize his entire career. Will the detective take down the killer and place his faith in the medical establishment to heal his son? Or, will he make a deal with the devil for the transplant organ his son needs to live?

At What Cost, James L'Etoile's engrossing new mystery, is a heart-stopping thrill ride that will keep readers guessing at every turn. Fans of Michael Connelly and Thomas Perry won't be able to put this down.

My Thoughts: The story begins when Detective John Penley is called to the riverside when a torso of a man is found. This is the third such discovery. But this time Penley recognizes a tattoo on the man's chest. Turns out he was a local gang member who has distanced himself from the gang and found a new way to make money since his daughter was diagnosed with cancer.

Penly and his partner Detective Paula Newberry, formerly from Internal Affairs, are soon following a trail the leads to black market organ sales. Not so coincidentally, Penley's nine-year-old son Tommy is on the waiting list for a kidney transplant which makes this case even more important for him to solve.

The action was fast-paced and furious in this story as Penley and Newberry follow the clues left by a criminal who seems to always be at least two steps ahead of them. Things get even more tense when the criminal kidnaps Penley's son.

This was a real page turner. I read it in one day because I just couldn't put it down until I knew how everything worked out. Block out some time for this one, you won't be able to put it down either.

Favorite Quote:
"How can you work like that?" John said, indicating her desk.

"What are you, my mother? I have a system that works for me -- that's what matters."

"Your desk looks like an episode of Hoarders. It --"

"Rubs your OCD the wrong way? Get over it." She flicked her had dismissively.
I got this one in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. You can buy your copy here.

1 comment:

  1. On behalf of John Penley and Paula Newberry, I'd like to thank you for your very kind review. It is so much appreciated! -- James L'Etoile


I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!