Friday, August 2, 2019

Friday Memes: In the Line of Fire by R. J. Noonan

Happy Friday everybody!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City ReaderThe Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginning:
If he was stupid enough to make one, he'd call his YouTube video "How to make one hell of a payday in one easy evening."
Friday 56:
The steamy water of the shower was refreshing, and I lathered up in sweet-smelling soap and then stood with my face in the stream of water. My friend Becca, who was always dabbling in mystical things like tarots and crystal balls and Reiki, had told me that sometimes needy souls attached themselves to you, and the only way to cleanse them was to rinse in cold water. No cold water for me, but I liked the image of washing away clingy spirits.
This week I am featuring mystery In the Line of Fire by R. J. Noonan. I got this eARC from NetGalley. Here is the description from Amazon:
In the vein of Lisa Jackson and Julia Maynard, a dark and compulsive mystery about secrets too big for the small town’s britches.

When secrets are too big to buy, it’s worth killing to bury them.

Growing up, Laura Mori was constantly overshadowed by her far more successful siblings. She had a tough time appeasing her parents, and now that she’s a police officer, recently promoted to detective, they still seem less than fazed. Everyone knows a cop’s salary―it’s meager, to say the least. But Laura has found her calling―she was born to be a detective and is determined to prove it, if not to her parents, then at least to the boys club that is Sunrise Lake PD. She sticks out like a sore thumb as the only young female minority, but she has resolved to at least seem like an unshakeable thumb.

The next case file on her desk turns out to be a bank heist and it should be easy enough, but what starts off as a one-and-done job quickly begins to seem too by-the-book and oddly like a notorious series of deadly bank hits from years past dubbed Twilight. But it’s a dead end―Twilight is only ever mentioned in hushed tones, and there’s little to no history on it in the department. And then she receives her first sign, of many more to come, that her investigation is not welcome. Alongside her partner Z and stunningly attractive FBI agent Nick Derringer, she begins to pull on the frayed thread, and that’s when she sees the bloody writing on the wall: the only other young female cop on the force was KIA during Twilight.

With too much on the line to lose, including her own life, Laura must get to the bottom of the case and fast, or she, too, will become history.

6 comments:

  1. Both snippets intrigue me... I linked you up. Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Those snippets are really good! I am intrigued. Have a great weekend!

    marti at @BookishTreats

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a good story.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Looks like an exciting read! I got very different vibes from the two snippets

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oooh! In the line of fire sounds really interesting!

    Here’s my Friday 56!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm curious to meet these characters now. And the blurb sounds good.

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!