Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Audiobook Review: A Liaden Universe Constellation Volume 4 by Sharon Lee & Steve Miller

A Liaden Universe Constellation, Volume 4

Sharon Lee & Steve Miller
Narrator: Kevin T. Collins
Series: Liaden Universe Constellation
Publication: Baen Books; 1st edition (July 16, 2015); Tantor Audio (July 26, 2022)
Length: 416 p.; 15 hours and 4 minutes

Description: BOOK 3 in the multivolume Liaden Universe ® short fiction collection. Tales of the Liaden Universe® brought together for the first time. Space opera and romance on a grand scale in a galaxy full of interstellar trading clans.

A dozen recent Liaden Universe short works are added to the collection in the third volume of A Liaden Universe Constellation. Ranging from comic to cosmic, only one of these works was first published before 2011. These welcome new additions bring the collected Constellation of Lee & Miller Liaden short stories to 45 works in three mega-volumes.

The nationally best-selling Liaden Universe® novels are treasured by space opera aficionados for their wit, world-building, strong characterizations, tender romance, and edge-of-the-chair action.

Since 1995, Sharon Lee and Steve Miller also created shorter tales, illuminating additional facets of the Liaden experience. Here is a vast tapestry of tales of the scouts, artists, traders, priestesses, sleight of hand magicians, and pilots who fill the Liaden Universe® with the excitement, action, and romance that readers of the hit series have come to adore. Contains all new entries published after 2011.

My Thoughts: This collection includes twelve stories of varying length. Together the stories tell more about favorite characters and/or illuminate different part of the massive Liaden Universe.

Code of Honor is Tommy Lee's story and tells about his life with the mercenaries and what happens when he is called home.

Guaranteed Delivery tells about Aelliana and Daav's fourth courier assignment.

Intelligent Design tells how Jeeves came to be Korval's butler.

Out of True tells about when Clay and Squithy meet the norbears and take them out into the greater galaxy,

Roving Gambler is a Quin story.

King of the Cats is a crossover, non-canon story about Kinzel calling Val Con to his world to help him rescue some cats.

Kin Ties tells what happens when Ren Zel dea'Juden and Anthora go back to Cassiaport on Korval's business and meet a woman bent on her grandfather's revenge.

Eleutherios tells the story of one Bedel on a strange and damage world.

The Rifle's First Wife is the story about how Diglon Rifle came to marry a Liaden Scout. 

The Space at Tinsori Light tells about Jen Sin yos'Phelium, pilot of Korval, who, injured, finds his way to Tinsori Light.

Landed Alien tells what happened to Kara ven'Arith after Theo was expelled from the Academy and before they met again on Codrescu Station.

Moon's Honor is a Lute and Moonhawk story. In this one, she becomes his apprentice when the Head of her Circle sends her out to get some experience of the world outside of Temple.

All of these stories were entertaining. They include stories that tell us more about characters who appear in the main line stories. They also include stories from other parts of the wide Liaden Universe. I especially enjoyed Out of True this time because I've now met the characters again in the Jethri novels.

It is good to have all the stories collected in one volume since they were originally published in a variety of places from chapbooks to the Baen website.

Favorite Quote:
Whoever had come, whoever had heard, and heeded his call. That one he would serve, as well as he was able, for as long as he could.
I bought this one. The Kindle copy in 2015 and the audiobook in 2022. You can buy your copiy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!