Thursday, September 7, 2017

ARC Review: Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany

Body on Baker Street
Author: Vicki Delany
Series: Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mysteries
Publication: Crooked Lane Books (September 12, 2017)

Description: Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table―dead.

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

My Thoughts: Gemma Doyle's second case comes right to the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium when best-selling author of a Sherlock Holmes mystery comes to do a signing and dies by drinking water laced with cyanide. When one of Gemma's customers is accused, she is on the case to clear his name.

This book has a wonderful assortment of suspects from the publicist and the downtrodden personal assistant of the author to the author's "biggest fan" to the disgruntled and delusional would-be author who is convinced that Renalta stole her idea and refuses to give her credit.  Gemma's friend is a major Sherlock Holmes fan who threatened Renalta in public for what he saw as her inaccurate portrayal of the Great Detective.

Gemma is a great character who has a lot of the same characteristics as Sherlock Holmes. She is also known for her uncanny and accurate deductions which don't endear her to the police including her former boyfriend Detective Ryan Ashburton. But Gemma and her sidekick Jayne Wilson who runs Mrs. Hudson't Tea Room are on the case.

I really liked the story and liked that bookseller Gemma also mentioned a number of other books the also star Sherlock Holmes which were written by contemporary authors. The story had lots of twists and turns and was an engaging read.

Favorite Quote:
"You're so lucky to have her coming here. Imagine, Renalta herself, in your tiny store." She clutched her hands to chest and fluttered her eyelashes at me. "My dream come true."
I received this one in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. You can buy your copy here.


  1. Thank you for the review. Making a note of this one for my TBR

  2. I was sorry I didn't pick this second book up. I just have to juggle time and choices. Glad that you enjoyed it.


I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!