Friday, November 2, 2018

Friday Memes: A Dangerous Duet by Karen Odden

Happy Friday everybody!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City ReaderThe Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginning:
London, 1875

The back door of the Octavian Music Hall stood ajar, and a wedge of yellow light streamed out into the dark, crooked quadrangle of the yard. I picked my way toward it across the uneven ground, glad that I was in stout boots and trousers instead of my usual skirts.
Friday 56:
He snorted. "I knew you were a girl the minute you cried out last night on the stairs. You think he doesn't know too?"
This week I am spotlighting A Dangerous Duet by Karen Odden. This is a review book that I received from the author. Here is the description from Amazon:
This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today bestselling author Karen Odden introduces readers to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious—and deadly—crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for readers of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.

Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself—by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. And the fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn’t deter her.

Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons—and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own.

The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian’s world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. And when another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.

11 comments:

  1. Thank you for bringing this book to my attention! A Victorian era mystery sounds like something that would be right up my alley, so I'll have to see if I can find myself a copy. Plus, that cover is absolutely beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds tempting! Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds intriguing! I love historical mysteries. Thanks for sharing! Hope you have a great weekend! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like a great story.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for introducing me to a new series and author!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Good build up.... I wonder what it leads to. :-) Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Love that opening few lines. Very descriptive. My book is called 1968 Do you remember that year?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Looks fun. As a keen amateur musician myself, I enjoy tales with a musical twist.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love stories set in this era. The writing drew me right in!

    My Friday 56 from Fairest

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love stories from the Victorian era where a girl corss-dresses to reach her goal. Enjoy!

    Ronnie @ Paradise Found

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like the sound of this one and am always drawn to historical mysteries/thrillers. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity.

Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!